Winning a contest…

What? Winning a contest? Well, this is a never done thing. How did I do that?

Running Goodman Games Dungeon Crawl Classics at a local FLGS. Goodman Games

It all first started a few months ago when I was asked if I’d like to try a new RPG. The first time I played it, I was not impressed. I think it had to do with not understanding the fragility of the 0-level characters. But it also has to do with the fact that I’m relatively new to RPG gaming, so I lack the OSR background. Fantasy role-playing isn’t something I did as a kid. I had and have a good imagination, but I have lacked practicing my imagination over the past 20+ years.

I enjoy reading books. I’ve tried writing a novel and have one in an unedited state. I love the imagination and the freedom to create stories. As I come across RPG gaming, I’m excited. I’m in the process of writing an adventure module. But, probably, like my novel, it will stay in an unedited state. Yet, I’ve introduced the first part and have players who have really enjoyed it. So, on to developing it more.

Goodman Games has World Tour 2017 and asks for Road Crew where you can order free swag to hand out at your DCC RPG sessions. They also posted a contest for GenCon 2017. All you needed to do was to schedule and report on DCC RPG sessions at your local FLGS. This is what I did and sent an email that I wanted to enter the contest. Nothing lost. Nothing gained. 

I gained! I recently heard that I was one of three contestants that won the GenCon 2017 package! With the package, I will get to run two DCC RPG sessions for Goodman Games. I’ve never been to GenCon. I have friends that are drooling over my win. And I have friends that have been there and are going again this year. I have lots to learn before I get there. This is so exciting!

Now back to studying and planning!

Just off the press! Goodman Games World Tour 2017 Contest drawing.

Author: joanAnewbeginningblog

Registered nurse, table & rpg gamer, recreational cyclist, lover of the outdoors, wanna be writer.

Leave a Reply

